2021-05-16 15:46

Applications for Jubileumsvasan are now open – and the jury presented

From Wednesday, May 12, applications are open for Jubileumsvasan, a race that will reproduce the very first Vasaloppet in 1922. The five members of the jury have now been presented: Johan Eriksson, Susanna Kallur, Petter Karlsson, Karin Mattsson and Johanna Ojala.

In 2022 it will be 100 years since the very first Vasaloppet. As part of the anniversary celebrations, the first Vasaloppet will be held again. The race is called Jubileumsvasan with the subtitle ”Challenge of the century”. Because it’s truly a challenge like no other.

Jubileumsvasan on Saturday, February 12, 2022 will run from Sälen to Mora as if it was 1922 again. This means 139 participants (as many as registered in 1922), wooden skis with toe straps, wool trousers and pointed shoes of cloth. Participants will apply tar to their skis over open flames and enjoy contemporary catering such as broth, eggs and milk at the three checkpoints in Mångsbodarna, Evertsberg and Oxberg.

Since the number of participants is limited to 139, everyone interested in participating will need to apply. Application is open from May 12 until June 7, 2021. When the application period finishes, Vasaloppet will make a first selection, after which the jury steps in for the final selection of 139 participants who get the chance to stand on the starting line. Those selected will be presented this summer and will, over the autumn, document their intended clothing and equipment for Jubileumsvasan.

Participation is free and anyone can apply: Women and men, Swedes and internationals, those feeling adventurous or curious, elite and recreational athletes. So what will the jury look for to make their selection? Of course there are physical requirements as Jubileumsvasan is will be physically demanding, but participants should also show a high ambition to have contemporary equipment ready by the start date.

Read more on Jubileumsvasan and fill out the application form no later than June 7, 2021 >

Jury members
The jury consists of five people, all with backgrounds and professions that guarantee the best possible selection.

Johan Eriksson, CEO Vasaloppet
Chairman of the jury.

Susanna Kallur, exercise inspirer for Motionsklubben and GetVibes
Susanna Kallur skied Tjejvasan 2019, Vasaloppet 45 and Hemmavasan Cykel 45 2020, and Vasaåket Natt 45 2021.

Petter Karlsson, journalist and author
Petter Karlsson is the author behind ”Vasaloppet – The World’s Healthiest Centenarian”, published December 1, 2021.

Karin Mattsson, chairman of the Swedish Ski Association
Loves following Vasaloppet on TV, but seeing the start on location in Sälen and really feeling the nerves – that can’t be beat! She hasn’t skied it yet, but you never know…

Johanna Ojala, host of Viaplay’s winter venture
Johanna participated in Vasaloppet as a skiing reporter for SVT in 2018.

Upcoming events in the Vasaloppet Arena

Vasaloppet’s Summer Week 2021
Fri 13 Aug: Cykelvasan Öppet Spår. 94 km. Start Sälen
Fri 13 Aug: Cykelvasasprinten. 1 km. Lindvallen. Start Sälen
Sat 14 Aug: Cykelvasan 90. 94 km. Start Sälen
Sun 15 Aug: Cykelvasan 30. 32 km. Start Oxberg
Sun 15 Aug: Ungdomscykelvasan. 32 km. Start Oxberg
Sun 15 Aug: Cykelvasan 45. 45 km. Start Oxberg
Fri 20 Aug: Trailvasan 10. 10 km. Start Mora
Sat 21 Aug: Trailvasan 30. 30 km. Start Oxberg
Sat 21 Aug: Ultravasan 45. 45 km. Start Oxberg
Sat 21 Aug: Ultravasan 90. 90 km. Start Sälen
Sat 21 Aug: Vasastafetten. 4.5–15 km. 90 km running relay for ten-person teams. Start Sälen
Sat 21 Aug: Vasakvartetten. 19.1–24.2 km. 90 km running relay for four-person teams. Start Sälen

Anniversary race 2022
Sat 12 Feb: Jubileumsvasan. About 90 km. Start Sälen

Vasaloppet’s Winter Week 2022 – 100th anniversary!
Fri 25 Feb: Vasaloppet 30. 30 km. Start Oxberg
Sat 26 Feb: Tjejvasan. 30 km. Start Oxberg
Sun 27 Feb: Ungdomsvasan. 9/19 km. Start Eldris/Hökberg
Sun 27 Feb: Öppet Spår Sunday. 90 km. Start Sälen
Mon 28 Feb: Öppet Spår Monday. 90 km. Freestyle, start Sälen
Tue 1 Mar: Vasaloppet 45. 45 km. start Oxberg
Fri 4 Mar: Stafettvasan. 9–24 km. 90 km relay for 5-person teams. Start Sälen
Fri 4 Mar: Nattvasan 90. 90 km. Freestyle, individually or in two-person teams. Start Sälen
Fri 4 Mar: Nattvasan 45. 45 km. Freestyle, individually or in two-person teams. Start Oxberg
Fri 4 Mar: Nattvasan 30. 30 km. Freestyle, individually or in two-person teams. Start Oxberg
Sat 5 Mar: Blåbärsloppet. 9 km. Start Eldris
Sun 6 Mar: Vasaloppet. 90 km. Start Sälen (FULLY BOOKED)


Our main sponsors